Why Trying To Do Everything Leads To Accomplishing Very Little & My Time Managment Technique

10 Jul

check-list

Hello all.

I don’t try to do everything. I only focus on a small percentage of things during the day that I have decided to be of prime importance. What I do is, before I go to bed every night I set up a list of 3 M.I.Ts. An M.I.T stands for Most Important Tasks. I decide the day before what my most important tasks are for the given day. Keep in mind these 3 tasks may not the easiest or most fun things to do during the day, but they are important to have complete before the day is over.

After I complete each one, I cross out the task from my list. At this time I take a very short break and go on to the next task, and so on. After completing my 3 Most Important Task, I go to my calender and mark and X for the day. This X on the day is a signal to me that I’ve completed my tasks for the day. The simple act of marking the X on my calendar gives me an honest sense of accomplishment and security. It makes me feel good knowing I completed what I set out for that day. This in turn builds momentum and confidence for the following day, and tackle the new challenge.

After completing my 3 M.I.Ts I can relax a little bit and consume information and learn new things. This is a relaxing and fun process as I do enjoy learning new things and like to constantly stay on top of the latest and up to date information. Once again this method is not intended to try to try do “everything” rather it is intended to do only a small portion of Most important task each day, which ultimately leads to more production, not less.

As the month comes to an end, and I look at my calendar as a whole, (if followed through correctly) there is an even bigger sense of feeling accomplished and a peace of mind for that month. This calendar technique gradually keeps me accountable and on track towards my bigger ultimate life goals.

“One does not accumulate but eliminate. It is not daily increase but daily decrease. The height of cultivation always runs to simplicity.”
-Bruce Lee

Trying to do everything leads to accomplishing very little, because you are too open to the needs and wants of so many people. If you try to be everywhere, you might end up not being anywhere. Stay present, and don’t be afraid of eliminating the clutter that isn’t yielding the results that you really want for yourself. Focus on doing the 3 Most Important Things that matter to you at the start of each day, and you will begin to see that only very little matters in your life. This attitude of focusing on that small percentage ironically leads to bigger more rewarding results for you in your personal life.


“Don’t try to do more. Just do more of the right things”
-Anonymous


My Concern With What A Majority of People Are Doing

What a majority of people do is that they aren’t clear on what are their most important tasks are, because they aren’t clear on their values. When you are clear on what you value you will be in a better position to operate more effectively on the Most Important Tasks of each day. I think society places such a huge importance of having and doing things that people tend to forget who we are in the process. Being who you are and contributing from within is the true path of the Beyond Successful individual. Don’t let this messed up society determine that for you, all those answers are inside you, take time to listen to it. The goal of my blogs is to get people clear on their values. Getting clear on what really matters to them, recognizing their dreams and true aspirations.

“You cannot teach a man anything; you can only help him find it within himself”
-Galileo Galilei

This Blog Is A Starting Place For a Solution

I hope these blogs serve as inspiration for people to follow their dreams and although I am not a “How To Guy.” I consider my material more inspirational, idealistic and thought provoking. With that said, I hope the example of my personal time management daily agenda, proves to be a real example of how you can take big dreams and turn those into very doable small action steps that put you into action towards realizing your ultimate dream, to be, do, and have what you want in life.

+Baker

2 Responses to “Why Trying To Do Everything Leads To Accomplishing Very Little & My Time Managment Technique”

  1. Baker Colvert July 12, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    Great post Baker, just what I needed to hear right now. I like the 3 M.I.T.s advice and I am going to try to put it to good use.

    “The sun’s rays do not burn until brought to a focus.”
    Alexander Graham Bell

  2. beyondsuccess July 13, 2009 at 3:18 am #

    That’s a great comment from Alexander Graham Bell, to remind us all to focus on just a small amount of things each day. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

