The Value of Failure

27 Nov

cartoon-kid.gif 

I find great value in failure. Failure is the part of the process of success. Do you remember back when you were learning to ride a bicycle? Well I’m assuming that the first couple of times you didn’t get it down smoothly. You probably got on the bike and fell a couple times, maybe even hurt yourself. But did you say to yourself “I have failed now I can’t ride a bike” No you got back up and learned to ride. You instinctively felt that given enough time and practice you would eventually learn how to ride the bicycle. It was through monetary failure that you learned to ride a bike. When a baby learns to walk does he/she start walking right away? No the baby falls down and gets back up. Even at that young age we know what it takes to get something done the right way. At an early age we understood the value of failure.

Listen, in life if you are going after a goal or wanting to achieve something great you are going to fall more than the average person. It is my belief that a person that avoids failure is the person that is content with mediocrity. The person that doesn’t want to fail and avoids it like the plague misses out on very valuable experiences that great people experience.
Individuals who go beyond success, have failed miserably before arriving.

I personally have dealt with many failures in my life. I used to think that failing was bad and that I was a looser if I failed. I would fail and get down on myself for not doing what I said I was going to do. Little did I know at the time that those failures were blessings in disguise that led me to even better places. I soon came to grips with the reality that everyone fails and that failure is valuable. It is in failing where we learn the most. I began to take on challenges and fail and really embrace the failure as something good rather than bad. You know what began to happen when I really saw failure as valuable? I learned more about myself and have been able to teach and inspire many people because of this.

To this day I still hate loosing. As a competitive individual I would not want to fail. Yet in the back of my mind I know if I fail at something it is only monetary. It’s temporary and it actually is something that is very valuable in the overall scheme of things. Seeing Failure as valuable is really looking at the “Big Picture” and it feels much better.

Individuals that understood the Value of Failure:

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.

-Michael Jordan


“I didn’t fail the test, I just found 100 ways to do it wrong”

-Benjamin Franklin

“Keep on beginning and failing. Each time you fail, start all over again, and you will grow stronger until you have accomplished a purpose – not the one you began with perhaps, but one you’ll be glad to remember.”

-Anne Sullivan

+Baker

Leave a Reply

